Finally joining the legions of bloggers….

Late bloomer that I am, today is the day, after years of deliberation (and procrastination), that I have decided to launch my first attempt at blogging.

Welcome to my creative world and please keep reading this first post for a “reward” of a free knitting pattern further down.

I have been knitting and designing for most of my life, have given away more stuff than I can remember, published a bit (in Knitter’s Magazine, Winter 1997 and some self-published leaflets), and lately have wanted to reach out to others, knitters and non-knitters, who might interested in what I do, and what I have to say about it.

Being able to connect with one’s own creativity is a wonderful thing and I believe that each and every one of us has a well of creativity within, just waiting for us to dive in and partake. Not everyone’s creativity comes out in the same way and creativity does not happen in a vacuum. It needs stimulation, something to wake it up and make it want to shout!

Of course coming from creative parents helps:

Perhaps reading my posts will help to motivate a few of you to do what I do…well, maybe not adopt weird sleeping hours, as I did when my daughter was a toddler…just to find time to create…but it might help to stir your own creative impulses. If yours have already been activated, maybe it will spur you on even more!

Here are a couple of pics of my daughter, the beautiful, smart, and talented Julia Barrus, modeling a one-of-a-kind shawl I designed and made for my ex-MIL’s 80th birthday present.  The technique for this design was handknitting with crochet-embellishment using many different yarns, ribbons, and beads.

Clara's shawl

Clara's shawl

 

 

Freebie Pattern Coming Up!

Easy Elegance Ponchette

This design is perfect for those who have not been knitting for very long and affords a great opportunity, if you can stand it, to log lots of time knitting what is essentially a long rectangle of ribbing.  I know, I know, that seems boring…but look at it as a zen exercise.

To inaugurate my blog, I’ll offer this free pattern for my original “Easy Elegance Ponchette,”  and if anyone can think of a name for this other than “ponchette,” please post it in the comments.  I dislike the word “ponchette” but it does seem to fit!

This design came about when I bought yarn to make something for one of my dearest and oldest friends, Ruth R. of Zurich, Switzerland.  She’s not old, but our friendship is!

I was spending a month there with her about 5 years ago and as we traveled around the country, my eyes, ever on the lookout for yarn shops, spied a very nice-looking one in a small town near the Austrian border.

We went in and I lost my mind….yarn costs there are (or were) about a third what they were in the U.S., so I bought lots and lots (and lots!) of yarn.

Fast forward to two years ago in South America.  Ruth and I met there to do some travel in Chile and Argentina.  I had carried the yarn for Ruth’s “whatever,” intending to finish it and give it to her to avoid having to mail it to Europe from the U.S.  Rayon can be heavy!

Another view of the ponchette

The design kind of defined itself on the needles and resulted in a silver grey version of the garment you see here.  She and I both liked hers and I decided to make another one for myself when I got back home.  Ruth wore hers to a tango show that I was too sick to attend.

Later, I made the blue one for myself with yarn I found on the web at Cudgenet, a wedding supplies company.

Then one day a few months later,  I was wearing mine at work, someone admired it and commissioned me to make one for her!

Last year I put together a written pattern for my fellow guild members at the High Tide Purlers knitting guild in Laguna Beach, CA, U.S.A. and here it is:

*Easy Elegance Ponchette

by

Deborah A. Fleming

Blue Chainette Yarn from Cudgenet used double, or any other yarn to get gauge.  This is probably about a sport weight when using it doubled.

One size fits most

 

I bought 2 spools  of the chainette yarn and used the yarn doubled.  Any rayon or drapey yarn works well with this design. Other yarns can be used, but the result will vary.

 

For the size I made, there will be  some yarn leftover…probably enough for a small purse.

 

Gauge:  On size #9 needles with 2×2 ribbing.  6 sts./5 rows to the inch, unstretched. 

 

The fabric made is very s-t-r-e-t-c-h-y.

 

I have one selvedge stitch at the end of each row: 

On each row, I slip the first stitch of the row and knit the last stitch of the row.

 

Cast on 76 sts.

Row 1 (right side):  Slip 1, *k2, p2, repeat from * across to the last stitch. K1.

 

Row 2 (wrong side): Slip 1, *p2, k2, repeat from * across to the last stitch. K1.

 

Repeat these two rows until piece measures about 48” unstretched, ending with a wrong side row.

 

Bind off loosely in ribbing.

 

Finishing:  Fold piece in half lengthwise.  Sew sides together beginning at a point 3” above the cast on/bind off edges, and at intervals about 1.5” apart to leave a keyhole effect at the join.

If the wearer is of a larger-than-average size, you will want to increase  the number of stitches you cast on as follows: 

To balance the placement of the knit stitch ribs (as the work is facing you), to increase you’ll want the number of stitches to be a multiple of 4 by an **odd** number, plus 2 stitches for the end selvedges. 

So, for example, my original size has a cast on of 78 stitches.  So that’s 76, divisible by 4 an odd number of times (19, to be exact), plus 2 more stitches for the selvedge.

 

Now go out and party!  Or, if you are making this for someone else, make another one for yourself!

*Updated September 22, 2014

© 2007-2014 Deborah Allen Fleming

Please don’t sell this pattern or otherwise use it for profit.  If you decide to share it with anyone else  that’s fine, but if you do, please be sure to include my name, the copyright symbol and this note.  Thanks!

Academics Knit
Power By Ringsurf
San Diego Knit Bloggers
Power By Ringsurf

Explore posts in the same categories: Easy Elegance Ponchette, Introductory stuff, Patterns

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

16 Comments on “Finally joining the legions of bloggers….”

  1. Karen Says:

    Your “whatever” looks cute! I’m not sure what to call it either, though. 🙂 Welcome to the land of bloggers–great first post!

  2. SALLY Says:

    Thank you for your lovely Ponchette pattern, I will find the perfect yarn for mine, trying to match it to yours.
    You have a beautiful expressive way of writing and I have enjoyed your blog, and I will check back periodically for more inspiration.
    Sally

  3. Teri Says:

    Welcome to the world of blogging….it’s crazy out here….

  4. ekstatic Says:

    I love the shawl. And your daughter is so like you – in terms of sharing your features. I hope you keep this blog up … maybe it will motivate me to finally start mine!

  5. Zuleika Says:

    I’m so glad you’ve started blogging! You write wonderfully, and I know I’ll enjoy your future posts. The shawl is beautiful, and I really love the ponchette! 🙂 No one else seems to have another name for it, so I guess you’ll be keeping ponchette huh? 🙂

  6. Linda "K" Says:

    Hiya! Love the blog so far! Am climbing back out of one of my vats of depression and am back on the planet! Now to start blogging again. Great pix of Julia and the little Queen Miss. How about Poncherette (pronounced like Ponsherette) – not much different… Will write soon and continue our conversations!

    Love,

    El

  7. Nano Says:

    Welcome to blogging. A very nice post, very eloquently done.

    I absolutely love that shawl. A very nice work of art.

  8. gaby Says:

    Great job Dehbi!

  9. Kathy Says:

    Beautiful shawl and thanks for the ponchoette pattern! What are the embellishments on the shawl??

    Kathy
    >^..^<

  10. Dora Says:

    ^_^ looking at your works of art i feel embarrass with the “pasalubongs” we got you they are nothing compared to your handcrafts..you are truly amazing…!

  11. dehbi Says:

    Thanks to everyone for coming to my “debut cyberparty”! Your kind words are most appreciated!

    Kathy, the embellishments on the shawl are crocheted. I treated the garter stitched fabric of the shawl, which was done first, as a sort of “canvas” into which I crocheted other yarns, ribbons, beads, etc. I love the organic, textural look of this technique, have used it on numerous sweaters and purses, and will use it again, I am sure.

  12. maryanne Says:

    Well it is lovely to meet you, and your wonderful family. I love your ponchette pattern. While yours looks lovely I would be more inclined to make it in wool. As a beginner spinner I can see it being a brillant way to show off my variated spinning in a positive light.

    maryanne in Aotearoa (New Zealand)

  13. lisa Says:

    Hi Dehbi, Great Blog, I know Iwill enjoy reading it. See you Monday,
    Lisa

  14. eileen Says:

    I’m sooo proud of you, Deb…This blog finally allows me to share your brilliant work as well as that of many of our members with my sister in Scottsdale. And I know now where your beautiful granddaughter got georgeous looks…………..wow, you’re daughter is a knockout….
    hope to see u at the next mtg.

  15. Shirley Maxine Says:

    Dehbi, this is wonderful! excatly what i would’ve expected from you. your story is great, even if i didn’t quite get what a blogger is, it shows you are very much down to earth along with your love for the art. it’d be so nice if a dehbi community of knitters developed and flourished here.

    that shawl is gorgeous, looks priceless! and that sweater reminded me of my sleeves creation, which i recently discovered a picture of, modeled by Lesley. i’d be surprised if your above pattern didn’t become a must have for lots of people.

    design on my friend; i love you, always think about you, and we’ll talk soon.

    wonderwoman

  16. dehbi Says:

    Thanks, Shirley, my eternal sister and friend!


Leave a Reply

